Jörgen van Rijen to Give US Premiere of MacMillan Concerto



For the 2017-2018 season, the Dallas Symphony has announced that Jörgen van Rijen, Principal Trombone of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, will give the US Premiere of a new trombone concerto. This new work, written by Scottish composer James MacMillan, received its world premiere by van Rijen in April of 2017 with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra.

The three performances will take place February 15-18, 2018 with Gustavo Gimeno as conductor. Other works on the concert include:

  • Prokofiev – Symphony No. 1, “Classical”
  • Tchaikovsky – Symphony No. 6, “Pathétique”

For more information, visit the DSO website.

To read reviews from the world premiere, click here.

Jeremy Smith

Jeremy Smith is a trombonist, brass teacher, and blogger. He studied music performance at both Grace College and Carnegie Mellon University, and currently is the bass trombonist for Orchestra Iowa and the Huntington Symphony Orchestra. In 2014, Jeremy started Last Row Music as an online resource of job postings and artist links for brass musicians around the world. When he is not performing or blogging, Jeremy is giving brass lessons to students throughout the country from his home in Centerburg, Ohio.